Home | Contact Us | About Us | Search | Join TPP | Member Login | Join Email List

Winners selected for St. Mary’s County 2018 Science & Engineering special awards

Published: 06 Feb 2018
Contributor: Sarah Ehman

Winners selected for St. Mary’s County 2018 Science & Engineering special awards
Awards reception to take place February 20

Lexington Park, MD – The Patuxent Partnership announces the winners of the 2018 St. Mary’s County Science & Engineering awards for middle and high school students.

Eight St. Mary’s County Science and Engineering Fair participants from senior and junior divisions were selected for awards in the areas of aeronautics and aerospace; electrical and electronics; environmental and biological; unmanned systems chief engineer award. One honorable mention was also awarded.

Aeronautics and Aerospace Award

Senior Division: Braedon Myers, Great Mills High School, “3-D Drone”

Junior Division: Caeden Wirth, Father Andrew White School, “Pushing Beyond the Boundary”

Electrical and Electronics Award

Senior Division: Joel Parshley, Dr. James A. Forrest Career and Technology Center, “ADS-B Raspberry Pi Airplane Tracking System”

Junior Division: Jackson Collins, Spring Ridge Middle School, “The Accidental Fall Indicator”

Environmental and Biological Award

Senior Division: John Podsednik, Kyra Pratley, William Voorhees, Dr. James A. Forrest Career and Technology Center, “Prescripted Code”

Junior Division: Holland Henderson-Boyer, Spring Ridge Middle School, “Does Green Mean Go?”

Unmanned Systems Chief Engineer Award

Senior Division: James Kelly, Great Mills High School, “Machine Learning Application for Heart Disease Diagnosis”

Junior Division: Jared Republica, Spring Ridge Middle School, “O.R.C.A. Ocean Robot Collecting Aggregates”

Honorable Mention

Senior Division: Anna Shevchuk, St. Mary’s Ryken, “Icing Solutions for Aircraft Wings”

Students will receive their awards and showcase their projects at a reception on February 20 at Great Mills High School from 5:00-6:30 p.m.

Guest speaker Dr. James Sheehy, chief scientist and chief technology officer for Naval Air Systems Command, will offer his remarks about the importance of STEM and the significance of the students’ achievements.

Members of the public are invited to attend the special awards reception. Advanced registration is required. A $5 donation will help cover the cost of refreshments; students may attend free. For more information, please visit www.paxpartnership.org or contact Jen Brown, programs and membership director, at jennifer.brown@paxpartnership.org, (301) 866-1739 x318.


Back to News Articles List

The Patuxent Partnership
Copyright 2006-2018. All rights reserved.